Published: Mon, April 16, 2018
Global Media | By Abel Hampton

Karnataka polls: Internal differences delay Cong's first list of candidates

Karnataka polls: Internal differences delay Cong's first list of candidates

The Congress is yet to release candidate list for five seats.

The Congress on Sunday released its first list of 218 candidates for the May 12 Karnataka Assembly elections, which includes the names of chief minister Siddaramaiah who has chose to shift from his earlier constituency of Varuna to Chamundeswari. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, who has been contesting from the Varuna constituency since 2008, will contest from Chamundeshwari constituency this elections.

His remarks came in the wake of reports that some senior leaders, including M Kharge, have objected to the CM's decision to contest from two constituencies.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah during the BJP Central Election Committee meeting, at the BJP headquarters in New Delhi on Sunday. "I am confident of winning 120 seats if my list is approved", he repeatedly told top leaders according to high level sources in the party. Party sources also said there was discontent among minority leaders also as the party leadership was considering a change of candidates in some constituencies where the Muslim electorate has a huge presence.

The sources also said that the KPCC chief has sought two tickets - one from the Koratagere constituency in Tumkur district, the seat that he had lost in 2013, and the other is the Pulakeshinagar constituency in Bengaluru, from where JD (S) MLA joined the Congress recently. Congress and Janata Dal (S) had both fielded 18 Muslims in the May 2013 Karnataka state polls.

In total there are 224 seats in the Karnataka assembly.

But what really caused sleepless nights to the BJP top brass was the party's own internal survey, which gave the Congress a lead in more than 100 seats. The BJP, on the other hand, was reduced to 40.

The Karnataka polls will be held between May 12 and the results will be declared on May 15. The last date to file nomination is April 24, scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on April 25 and last date to withdraw nomination will be April 27.

Like this: