Published: Fri, March 09, 2018
Global Media | By Abel Hampton

Neiphiu Rio to be sworn in today as new Nagaland CM

Neiphiu Rio to be sworn in today as new Nagaland CM

The swearing-in ceremony of the People's Democratic Alliance, Government of Nagaland will be conducted in "open air", which is the first of its kind in the history of Nagaland Legislative Assembly since the formation on February 11, 1964. The cabinet reiterated that the government would play the role of a facilitator in Naga peace process, and urged Naga groups that haven't yet done so to join ongoing negotiations.

The BJP-NDPP combine that bagged 30 seats enjoyed the support of one JD (U) legislator and an Independent.

Mr Rio is the 22nd Chief Minister of Nagaland and today he was sworn-in for the fourth time as the Chief Minister of Nagaland.

"For us, the people and the masses are our high command".

Newly sworn in as Nagaland Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio on Thursday assured to bring settlement in the Naga political issue as soon as possible.

Apart from the deputy chief minister, the new cabinet includes five names from the BJP - SP Phom, PP Konyak, Jacob Zhimomi, VK Sangtam and TI Along.

The oath-taking ceremony was attended by Union Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of State (Home) Kiren Rijiju, BJP President Amit Shah, BJP National General Secretary Ram Madhav, and Chief Ministers of Manipur & Assam.

Nagaland Governor Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya and Neiphiu Rio at the swearing-in ceremony in Kohima.

Rio, who returned to state politics after a gap of nearly four years after resigning from the Lok Sabha in 2014, also said that his government would ensure that the "votes cast in his party's favour do not go in vain".

The outgoing chief minister T R Zeliang was also present at the function.

Nagaland to receive its new government today, the Nationalist Democratic People's Party along with Bhartiya Janata Party is all set to form a government in the state.

The announcement was made by the BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma who stated that party has already formed a pre-poll alliance with NDPP and now they are going to form a government in the state with its ally party.

Like this: