Published: Fri, March 09, 2018
Global Media | By Abel Hampton

Nagaland CM wins by over 5000 votes

Nagaland CM wins by over 5000 votes

Meanwhile, NDPP-BJP CM designate candidate Neiphiu Rio will be swearing in as the new Nagaland CM on March 8 in Kohima.

The governor said he had received letters of support in Rio's favour from 12 legislators of the BJP, one letter from the JD (U) and another from an Independent MLA, besides the 18 legislatures of the NDPP.

Rio will be sworn in on Thursday, and has to prove his majority on the floor of the House "on or before March 16", according to a media release issued by the office of Governor P B Acharya Tuesday evening. But putting all uncertainty to rest, at least for now, BJP strategist Himanta Biswa Sarma said in Kohima on Monday that his party will not have any truck with the incumbent Naga People's Front (NPF) and will stick to its pre-poll ally, the Nationalist Democratic People's Party (NDPP).

Rio is a three-time chief minister of the state.

Till a year ago, Rio and Zeliang were part of the ruling NPF. The BJP too managed to strengthen its profile by absorbing a number of independents and Congress leaders.

Though NFP is the single largest party, even with the support of NPP, which has two seats, it is two short of the 31 mark.

"The decision to honour our pre-poll alliance with the NDPP will in no way affect the BJP's alliance with the NPF in Manipur". On Saturday, Zeliang had said he was ready to form the government with the BJP. He said there was no question of the BJP going back to the NPF.

12 ministers from NDPP, BJP and JD (U) would likely to induct in the Rio-led new government.

"Rio is a seasoned politician and having good relationships with many leaders in the North East and he will be able to provide a stable Government in Nagaland", Sarma said.

The NPF had also claimed that it was in discussions with the BJP. "Even though Rio met the governor, as of now, the hung assembly situation continues".

It was, however, true that BJP was part of DAN Government in Nagaland since 2003.

The ruling NPF has secured 27 seats while the NPP has got 2 seats. Supporting NPF, Manipur NPP president Thangminlien Kipgen and Manipur NPF president Awangbow Newmai reached out to BJP chief Amit Shah.

Like this: