Published: Mon, March 12, 2018
Economy | By Melissa Porter

BJP nominates V Muraleedharan for RS seat

BJP nominates V Muraleedharan for RS seat

The names of senior leader from Maharashtra Narayan Rane, BJP spokesman GVL Narsimha Rao, also a known psephologist-turned-politician, party's media coordinator Anil Baluni and party leader Saroj Pandey figure in the list of party's nominees for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha.

The JD (S), which does not have the required numbers to win, was, however, the first to enter the fray, with its candidate B M Farookh filing his nominations on Friday.

BJP has fielded their national executive committee member V Muraleedharan as their Rajya Sabha candidate.

Also, the party has chose to award a RS seat to former Rajasthan Minister Kirori Lal Meena, who returned to the party on Saturday after several years of leading his own outfit. Earlier, he was elected to the upper house as an Independent.

Sonia's invitation comes at a time when talk of a "non-BJP, non-Congress" front is doing the rounds following a proposal by TRS chief and Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao for a national consultation process on the matter. BJP general secretary Bhupendra Yadav is contesting from Rajasthan.

Other party candidates are Kirodi Lal Meena and Madan Lal Saini from Rajasthan, Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Soni from Madhya Pradesh, entrepreneur Rajeev Chandrasekhar from Karnataka, Sameer Uranv from Jharkhand and Lt. Gen. (retd) D P Vats from Haryana. The party had on March 7 announced names of Union ministers Thawarchand Gehlot and Dharmendra Pradhan as candidates from MP.

Congress spokesperson Abhishek Manu Singhvi will contest from West Bengal, where he will be supported by the state's ruling TMC. "But the Congress High-command unilaterally announced their candidate from Delhi, before a conclusion could be reached", Bose alleged.

Maharashtra-based journalist Ketkar has been chosen from the State where the party can send one nominee. Congress Jharkhand in-charge RPN Singh and state Congress chief Ajoy Kumar confirmed that the name of the candidate from Jharkhand will be announced soon.

The elections will be held on March 23 and the deadline for submission of nominations is March 12. The Congress with its seven MLAs can not win any of the 10 seats that are up for grabs and will support the BSP.

Like this: