Published: Mon, February 19, 2018
Global Media | By Abel Hampton

Tripura Election 2018: Chumki, the transgender voter votes for the 1st time!

Tripura Election 2018: Chumki, the transgender voter votes for the 1st time!

The counting of votes however will be done on March 03, 2018. BJP is battling close behind CPI-M and is expected to give the Left front a run for their money.

25L voters will choose their favorites from among 292 candidates across 60 constituencies, but voting in Charilam seat has been delayed due to CPI (M) candidate Ramendra ND Barma's death.

The CPI (M) is contesting in 57 seats while the other Left parties RSP, All India Forward Bloc and CPI have filed nomination for each seat.

Tripura Chief Electoral Officer Sriram Taranikanti said the Election Commission has appointed police observers, general observers and expenditure observers to oversee the entire poll process.

The ruling party BJP carried out its campaign in Tripura with Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressing four rallies in the state.

In their attempt to remove the Manik Sarkar-led government from the state, the BJP has tied up with the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT).

The Congress is going it alone in Tripura this time and is contesting 59 seats. The party has not fielded any candidate from the Kakrabon assembly seat of Gomti district.

Elections are being held in 59 out of the states 60 Assembly constituencies.

As dawn alighted on Sunday, the citizens of Tripura began exercising their franchise to elect representatives for the nascent 10th Legislative Assembly. 30,000 civil officials will be engaged in the conducting of elections.

There is "nothing unusual" of the VVPAT and EVMs technical snags reported during the voting on Sunday's voting for the Tripura assembly.

Besides Sarkar, prominent candidates of the Left Front are CPI (M) central committee members such as Health and PWD Minister Badal Chowdhury, Tribal Welfare Minister Aghore Debbarma, party secretary Bijan Dhar and chief spokesman Gautam Das. "Unity of Tripura had been fostered by several leaders and the soil is not that weak that anybody can disturb it. BJP has allied with forces wanting to divide the state".

Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, who is the BJP's Tripura election in-charge, claimed that Tripura would be the BJP's 20th state.

Like this: