Published: Thu, January 18, 2018
Sport | By Billy Aguilar

Windies U19 caught in spirit of cricket debate

Windies U19 caught in spirit of cricket debate

Wandile Makwetu, the South Africa wicketkeeper, rescued his side from trouble to score a run-a-ball 99 and send his team through to the knockouts.

But, in Pillay's case, the ball stopped moving when he picked it and it is not that he used his hand to stop the ball from hitting the stumps.

It happened in the 16th over of the South African innings when Pillay edged the fourth ball and the ball rolled towards the stumps before stopping by itself. Pillay, who carefully constructed 47 to keep South Africa chugging along, accepted the decision and walked back without a trace of dissent even as most at the ground were stunned by the very basis of the appeal, even if West Indies were within their rights to make it.

Pillay touched the still ball with his bat, then threw it to Stewart who talked to the on-field umpires.

Speaking about this in the post-match presentation, "I asked the question and he was given out based on the laws and rules of the game". As for spirit of the game, the players didn't do anything wrong right? "My teammates share the same sentiments", he said. South African captain Faf du Plessis took to Twitter, criticising the decision. He mentioned that he could have done the same if he was in that situation and added that the team wasn't happy with the decision.

"The Netherlands have got some big players back in recent times, so they'll be tough, while PNG are improving all the time".

South Africa finished on 8/282 as they recovered from that disappointment to set a decent total.

After the match, Steward also said: "I appealed, not with the intention of going upstairs". The umpires have done what they need to do.

New Zealand thumped Kenya in a group stage game at Hagley Oval in the ICC U-19 World Cup to triumph by 243 runs. Earlier, a similar incident took place in a BBL match.

However, the Irish will bring with them the memories of their emphatic victory over the Windies at the last World Cup in New Zealand three years ago, and captain William Porterfield said they would be using this as motivation.

What does the rule say?

The third umpire gave him out in line with Law 37.4 of the ICC Code Of Conduct which pertains to "returning the ball to the fielder" WHAT IS THE CONTROVERSY THEN?

Like this: