Latest
Recommended
Published: Mon, January 22, 2018
Global Media | By Abel Hampton

New feature on Instagram that lets you see users' 'active status'

New feature on Instagram that lets you see users' 'active status'

Thank God for the good people at Instagram who chose to include this last seen toggle, right? However, disabling the last seen will disable you from seeing the last seen of your friends too.

Just like with Whatsapp (also owned by Facebook) once you turn off your activity status, or last seen, you won't be able to see other people's either. So for any of you who have the test feature on you Insta app, here's a very simple way to hide it. If you haven't received the feature, it is because the rollout is phased, so it will reach you soon. The feature is only accessible in the Direct inbox though, so it won't be displayed in the main app to all followers. It quickly tells other users with the user was last online.

However, if you were planning on turning off your status but looking at other people's, Instagram isn't going to let that happen.

Apart from this, it has also come up with another feature that allows one to see if an account follows them or not. Critics have also indicated that it is possible that the social media giant may be testing the feature out to receive feedback. To add all the details, according to an Instagram spokesperson's speech, "We're always working on ways to make it easier to have fun, real-time conversations with friends on Instagram".

On Instagram, your followers can not see your last seen activity, but the users you follow or send a direct message will be able to see your last seen. This will prevent anyone from seeing your activity status anymore. This feature is the same as the one on Facebook Messenger.

Prior to this, another way of seeing the activity status of the people you follow was available on the notification section under the heart icon. Scroll down until you see "Show Activity Status" and then simply turn it off.

Until now, Instagram's Stories shows images and videos. Interestingly, the feature works even if the person is not following your account. This feature will notify the users if someone takes a screenshot of their stories.

However, good news is you can turn it off. The same feature can be seen on Facebook's app on Android and iOS platforms. The only downside is that you won't be able to see when others were last online if the toggle is turned off.

The feature appears for those who have the latest version of the app.

Like this: