Published: Mon, December 04, 2017
Global Media | By Abel Hampton

UP Civic polls: Opposition alleges tampering of EVMs

UP Civic polls: Opposition alleges tampering of EVMs

The party should, at least, hold the ladoos for a while. The BJP won 14 out of the 16 mayoral seats in the state.

The BJP has also won the prestigious Ayodhya-Faizabad seat. "The main agenda of the meeting would be to identify the causes where the party failed to perform", Pathak said. Giving the results figure, Singh said that out of the total 198 results declared for Nagar Palika chairman, BJP won 68 and lost 125 while for Nagar Palika Parishad member, BJP just won 914 seats and lost 4303 seats.

The Congress, which the BJP leaders seldom choose to spare, has also got 110 seats. The rest were won by the BSP. This is a victory of sorts, but not something to tom-tom about.

However, some surprising results have also shaken the has lost all the six seats of chairmen of Nagar Panchayats in the home turf of Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Maurya's bastion.

Even the first time entrant into civic polls, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has made inroads into the polity.

The BJP's Chandrama Devi won the Amethi Nagar Panchayat by 1035 votes.

As the Bharatiya Janata Party hailed Uttar Pradesh local body results as "massive victory" and vindication of people's faith in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's policies including GST, rival parties got together to hit back and blamed the results, especially of Mayor elections, on EVM tampering. The BSP had won two Mayor posts.

Vaibhav Maheshwari, state spokesman of the party told IANS that the "humble beginning with so little resources and cadre is more than heartening". "They have not managed to garner similar support (as in the case of Lok Sabha elections) in municipality or panchayat polls", Akhilesh said in Kolkata to workers at SP's state conference.

"Bahujan Samaj Party, Samajwadi Party and Congress are indulging in misinformation campaign following their crushing defeat in ULB elections". He claimed that people will again give a befitting reply to Opposition parties in 2019 Lok Sabha elections. At many places - like Meerut, Kanpur, Lucknow - there have been reports where a candidate who voted for himself, ended up with zero votes, raising questions about the fairness of the poll process. "General Elections are due in 2019".

Supporting his statement, party leader and former UP minister Azam Khan said the BJP won wherever EVMs were used and SP won wherever ballot papers were used.

Adityanath's home town Gorakhpur too had a bad news for the BJP as its corporator candidate has lost in the ward where Adityanath had voted.

Like this: