Published: Thu, December 07, 2017
Sport | By Billy Aguilar

Chennai Super Kings confirm MS Dhoni as their captain for IPL 2018

Chennai Super Kings confirm MS Dhoni as their captain for IPL 2018

The salary cap for each team for the 2018 season has been set at INR 80 crore (approximately $12.4 million) by the IPL governing council, which met in Delhi on Tuesday along with the Supreme Court-appointed committee of administrators.

While the teams that took part in the 2017 edition can retain players from squad that was submitted ahead of the 2017 season, Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings, who are coming back from a two-year suspension, won't have the luxury of retaining players from last year.

Two new teams, Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions squads were introduced to replace the suspended teams. Governing Council has cleared up the issue and therefore Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals will be retained for the upcoming IPL season.

IPL chairman Rajiv Shukla said all decisions were taken after reaching a consensus with the teams.

In terms of squad size, the previous squad limit of 27 has been reduced to a maximum of 25 players, up to eight overseas, and a minimum of 18 players.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had asked franchises as to how many players they would like to retain.

"What has been decided in the meeting was that the franchises can retain three players and two Right to Match or two retentions and three Right to Match", said one of the members who attended the meeting. If there is no retention before player auction then the franchises can have up to three ATM. To further explain the math, the first player to be retained pre-auction will get Rs 15 crore, the second player will get Rs 11 crore and and third Rs seven crore. A right-to-match card gives the franchise the ability to buy back its player during the auction by matching the highest bid made for the player by another franchise, once the bidding is over. Mumbai Indians will retain Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah, and the Pandya brothers (Hardik and Krunal) and also Royal Challengers Bangalore retains Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, and Chris Gayle but Shane Watson is not confirmed. The minimum spend will be 75 per cent of the salary cap for each season to aid junior players.

Considering the player auction will be a big one, the IPL has increased the salary cap significantly.

Like this: