Published: Fri, November 03, 2017
Medical | By Garry George

Fisher-Titus receives an "A" for patient safety

Fisher-Titus receives an

MMC has achieved straight A's by The Leapfrog Group, a nonprofit organization committed to driving quality, safety, and transparency in the US health care system, and is one of only 59 hospitals nationwide to attain this honor. "Additionally, our patients and their families should feel reassured that our continuous focus, as evidenced by the straight A's earned since The LeapFrog Group began awarding letter grades, is on the quality and safety of the care and compassion we provide to everyone we encounter, every time".

Blue Ribbon National Expert Panel developed the guidelines for the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade.

When hospital Chief of Performance Officer, Nicole Kerkenbush, saw the report, it was not the news she wanted.

"At North Shore Medical Center, our staff is always working to maintain the highest standards for patient safety, and it is an honor to be recognized for those efforts", said Manny Linares, hospital CEO. "I am so proud to be part of the Meadowview team and look forward to continuing the hospital's great work to improve patient care, safety and satisfaction long into the future".

Leah Binder, Leapfrog president and CEO, said in a statement that transparency of hospital practices and outcomes benefits patients and spurs changes within communities. A, B, C, D and F letter grades are assigned to hospitals nationwide.

Founded in 2000 by large employers and other purchasers, The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit organization driving a movement for giant leaps forward in the quality and safety of American health care. It uses 27 measures of publicly available hospital safety data in order to rank hospitals, according to the Leapfrog Group's website. The report cards come out twice a year.

Like this: