Published: Mon, October 16, 2017
Global Media | By Abel Hampton

Vengara Bypolls: IUML's KNA Khader wins by over 23000 votes

Vengara Bypolls: IUML's KNA Khader wins by over 23000 votes

The results started to float out by 10 am and for the counting of votes, voting machines at PSMO College (where counting took place) was under the supervision of Election Observer Amit Chaudhary. IUML's KNA Khader (UDF), CPM's P P Basheer (LDF) and BJP's K Janachandran (NDA) represent the main political fronts in Kerala.

The by-elections for the Vengara constituency of Kerala's Malappuram district were held on October 11, necessitated by the resignation of the IUML leader, P.K. Kunhalikutty, who was elected into the Lok Sabha from the Malappuram constituency. "The CPM candidate seems to have got the BJP votes in the constituency, that shows the collusion between these two parties", said Congress strongman and UDF opposition leader Ramesh Chennithala. The IUML strongman had won the 2016 Assembly polls by a margin of 38,057 votes.

All the dominant front were confident of better performance after the constituency witnessed the highest of voter turnout on Wednesday's polling which was 72.12 percent.

He was finally declared victor by more than 1,90,000 votes. What was left to be seen in this election was not who will win, but by how much.

Sources said after the first round of vote count, Sunil Jakhar, son of former Lok Sabha speaker Balram Jakhar, was leading his rivals by 14,300 votes.

Similarly, fresh polls were announced in Punjab's Gurdaspur following the death of actor-turned BJP MP Vinod Khanna in April this year.

BJP's Swaran Salaria is on 2nd position whereas AAP's Major General (retd) Suresh Khajuria is struggling on 3rd position.

Kozhikode: The counting of votes in the Vengara bypoll will begin at 8 am on Sunday. As per the Election Commission directive, all liquor shops in Gurdaspur would remain closed.

The Gurdaspur parliamentary seat has nine assembly segments - Bhoa, Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Dinanagar, Qadian, Fathegarh Churian, Dera Baba Nanak, Sujanpur and Batala.

Tight security arrangements have been made at the counting centres, an official said.

Like this: