Published: Sat, October 14, 2017
Culture | By Antonia Gonzales

Ireland to play their first Test in May

Ireland to play their first Test in May

In a statement released today, the ICC Board gave the go-ahead for a nine-team Test league and a 13-team ODI league aimed at "bringing context and meaning to bilateral cricket".

"The ICC Board decision means we can now go and finalise a playing well as the points system, hosting arrangements and competition terms".

Cape Town - The Proteas are a step closer to making history on Boxing Day when they take on Zimbabwe in the first ever four-day Test in Port Elizabeth.

"I would like to congratulate our Members on reaching this agreement and putting the interests of the development of the game first", he said.

The ICC has also given green signal to other nations to host four-day Test on trial basis up until ICC 2019 Cricket World Cup.

James Sutherland believes that the World Test Championship will not undermine marquee series like the Ashes.

In the Test Championship, the top nine teams will play six series - three at home and three away - and it'll be put in place after the 2019 World Cup.

"For five days you have to graft it out".

Ireland and Afghanistan were given test status in June.

How does the ODI league work?

".discussion to do with the World Cup Qualifiers next year due to be held in Zimbabwe.the ICC chair (person) requested that we provide guarantees at two levels; security guarantee for all the teams that will be visiting the country including the athletes and the technical officials and start from the ICC to make sure that the games are smooth", Hlongwane told reporters after his closed door meeting with Manohar.

The ODI league, that's set to be put in place in 2020, will have 13 teams - the 12 Full Members and the victor of the ICC World Cricket League Championship.

However, it'll be changed to a three-year cycle with teams battling it out in eight series - four at home and four away series - with a maximum of three ODIs in one series.

Richardson confirmed: "Starting in 2020 and in that two-year period leading up to the Cricket World Cup in 2023, those 13 teams will play eight series".

The Test Championship, however, won't include Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Ireland. "The trial is exactly that, a trial, just in the same way day-night Tests and technology have been trialled by members", he adds.

Like this: