Published: Mon, October 16, 2017
Economy | By Melissa Porter

Cong wins Gurdaspur LS seat with big margin

Cong wins Gurdaspur LS seat with big margin

The Gurdaspur parliamentary seat has nine assembly segments - Bhoa, Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Dinanagar, Qadian, Fathegarh Churian, Dera Baba Nanak, Sujanpur, and Batala.

Congress proved its mettle in Punjab after it wrested the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat from the saffron party with a thumping margin on Sunday.

The seat was earlier held by the Bharatiya Janata Party, which had won it in the 2014 general elections.

The elections for the Gurdaspur seat were necessitated after the death of BJP MP Vinod Khanna in April this year.

He added that the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had 2.7% votes last time, but this time it seems they have collapsed.

Almost 56 percent of the 15.22 lakh voter cast their votes in the October 11 by-election. It had suspended two of the four MPs, Dharamvira Gandhi and Harinder Singh Khalsa, for anti-party activities.

Punjab Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh, who had endorsed Jakhar's nomination for the party ticket, posted a series of tweets, lauding the win.

"Today, the BJP must be feeling that the Akali Dal in Punjab, especially the "jija-sala" have become a burden".

He said the result of the by-poll marked the revival of the Congress.

He added that this is the highest margin in Gurdaspur since the elections started in 1950.

He said this victory for the Congress would prove to be trend setter as this was the first Lok Sabha bye-poll in the country after the disruptive demonitisation and utterly mismanaged implementation of the GST that had destroyed the economy and hit the common man.

Punjab AAP state secretary Gulshan Chhabra said the decision was taken after extensive deliberations and feedback from the AAP state president and Sangrur MP, Bhagwant Mann, and co-state president and Sunam MLA Aman Arora.

Like this: