Published: Tue, October 17, 2017
Medical | By Garry George

Bypoll Results: Congress wins Gurdaspur; UDF retains Vengara

Bypoll Results: Congress wins Gurdaspur; UDF retains Vengara

The Gurdaspur LS bypoll result was interpreted as the continued decline of the BJP-SAD in Punjab, after it had lost the Assembly election in March this year.

"Time and again people have reprimanded them and sent them back", he said, adding the Akalis were like an albatross around the BJP's neck.

The BJP-SAD combine and AAP alleged misuse of government machinery by the ruling party in Punjab.

Another Punjab Congress leader and Rajya Sabha MP Partap Singh Bajwa claimed that the Gurdaspur victory as a start of new Congress era in whole of India ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha polls which will be a great morale booster for the Congress.

The results come at a time when Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi is set to take over as party chief, and as the party is preparing for Assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat, .

On the other hand Aam Aadmi Party candidate Major General (Retd) Suresh Khajuria was at the third spot with only 23,579 votes.

State Congress chief Sunil Jakhar, who trounced BJP's Swaran Salaria by almost 2 lakh votes, said it was a "referendum" on the NDA rule at the Centre.

At the end of the counting, it was found that Sunil Jakhar managed to get 4,99,752 votes while his opponent Swaran Salaria received 3,06,533 votes.

The Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat has nine Assembly segments - Bhoa, Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Dinanagar, Qadian, Fathegarh Churian, Dera Baba Nanak, Sujanpur and Batala.

Gurdaspur Lok Sabha by-polls counting process for the votes that polled in the 11 October has begun today, Sunday.

AAP's state unit president and party MP Bhagwant Mann said his party accepted the people's mandate and will introspect into the reasons for the defeat.

"This is because Gurdaspur was considered an Akali-BJP bastion. For some reason, the leadership opted for Salaria", said a senior BJP leader.

Like this: