Published: Fri, June 30, 2017
Sport | By Billy Aguilar

Indian spinners restrict West Indies eves to 183 in Women's World Cup

Indian spinners restrict West Indies eves to 183 in Women's World Cup

Mithali Raj missed out on her record extending eighth consecutive half-century in ODI cricket, falling agonisingly short of the mark by four runs, but another strong batting display from opener Smriti Mandhana sealed a comfortable seven-wicket victory for India against the West Indies in their second match of the ICC Women's World Cup on Thursday. The only saving grace has been accomplished by top batter - Shanel Daley and Afy Fletcher who remained not-out at 33 runs at 37 balls and 36 runs at 23 balls, respectively.

Deepti Sharma did not last long either as she was bowled by experienced off-spinner Stafanie Taylor.

The West Indies are the injured tigresses on the prowl waiting for their first win after a humiliating eight-wicket drubbing by the Australian girls who are prone to middle-order collapse against big teams. However, statistical favourites India need to put on the pressure while fielding and win this to maintain their top four position in the round robin format of the first round. She has been unbeaten in six of those innings.

Smriti Mandhana scored 106 off 108 balls.

For West Indies, Stefanie Taylor had figures of 1 for 24.

Put in to bat, the Caribbean team got off to a slow start with opener Hayley Matthews (43) and Felicia Walters (9) putting on 29 runs but ran out of ideas once the spinners were employed by India skipper Raj.

It is entirely impossible to back the West Indies with any confidence at the moment, so I'm going to stick with the conventional wisdom and tip India to win by a decent margin.

India will next face arch-rivals Pakistan on Sunday.

The Caribbean batters found it hard to hit leg-break bowler Poonam and the tight wicket to wicket bowling from Deepti and Ekta. Mithali Raj opted to field and West Indies were comfortably placed at 69 for one in the 19th over before things fell apart and the current World T20 champions were tottering at 91 for 6. India is being led by Virat Kholi, while the West Indies has retained Jason Holder as captain.

Like this: