Latest
Recommended
Published: Thu, November 17, 2016
Research | By Jennifer Evans

15 tweets to celebrate the 15-year anniversary of the Xbox

15 tweets to celebrate the 15-year anniversary of the Xbox

Microsoft followed that up with the Xbox 360 in 2005 and the Xbox One in 2013, which continues to compete with Sony's PlayStation console. Fifteen years later, the Xbox brand is still going strong, with the updated Xbox One S competing closely with the PS4 in sales and a new, more powerful version slated for next year.

Xbox just turned 15 on November 15 and Microsoft is celebrating its birthday with a special treat to avid players of first-person shooter "Halo 5" and open-world racing game "Forza Horizon 3". 29,000,304,183 of those hours were spent playing multiplayer, and over 32,667,582,157 achievements have been earned, which add up to 572,605,554,587 gamerscore. The original Xbox and the brand that it ushered in are a decade and a half old, as is the mega-hit series that launched along side it, Halo: Combat Evolved. Much like Goldeneye and Perfect Dark before it, Halo stood as proof that a first person shooter could work well on a console, and vastly outdid its predecessors.

Something's brewing for the upcoming Halo anniversary.

Halo 5: Guardians players who log into the game now through November 22 at 10am PT/1pm ET/6pm United Kingdom will receive a free 15th Anniversary REQ Pack.

According to GameSpot, Microsoft is giving away free DLC for "Halo 5: Guardians", which are four SPNKRS, four Halo 2 Beam rifles, four CE Magnums and a Mark IV armor with helmet. This is a free truck to drive in game, and it comes with a special 15th anniversary paint job.

The best way to participate in our celebration of 15 years of Xbox is to use our #15YearsOfXbox hashtag to share your favorite Xbox gaming memories with us. First up, the Forza team is gifting a 2017 Ford F-150 Raptor complete with a custom livery celebrating Xbox's 15th anniversary.

Like this: